Deeprest

I thought I could outrun You.

I thought that after all this time that You and I could be nothing but nostalgia-

Of things I’ve learned and moments I’ve earned.

I thought your firm hold

Your hands around my neck 

The way your fingers slide down my throat

And slither like ice through my veins…

I thought I’d have outrun you by now. 

I thought falling for someone 

Would be enough of a distraction 

To keep you out of my mind. 

That thinking of Him wouldn’t leave enough room 

For You to seep into my every breath.

I pray that one day my lips can reach the surface

And gasp for life again 

Where I can thrive amidst the sea spray 

Instead of you pulling me deep, deep down into you

For a deep rest.

One thought on “Deeprest

Leave a Reply

